Latest News Sports Top News

Indian Men Hockey Team announced for the upcoming New Zealand Tour

HockeyNew Delhi | September | Wednesday | 23, 2015 ::  Hockey India today announced the Indian Men Hockey squad for the upcoming New Zealand tour which is scheduled from 02 October to 11 October 2015. India will play a total of six games in the tour. The first two games will be played against New Zealand A and the rest of the four matches against the New Zealand’s National squad.

The New Zealand tour will be in preparation for the Hero Hockey World League Raipur 2015 which is scheduled from 27 November to 6 December in Raipur, India followed by the all important RIO Olympics next year.

The 21-member squad was selected post a rigorous Preparatory Camp under Director High Performance & Chief Coach (Men) Roelant Oltmans, held in Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in Delhi. Under the stewardship of Captain Sardar Singh along with the support Wall of Indian Hockey – PR Sreejesh. The Indian Men team will be vying for a clean sweep in New Zealand. Understanding the importance of the series ahead, the Indian team has been working on their passes and penalty corner conversions so as to leave no stone unturned and ensure that they come back victorious.

Speaking on the upcoming tournament Roelant Oltmans Director, High Performance & India Men Chief Coach said, “The boys are looking forward to the tournament ahead and are confident of a positive show. Also Dave Staniforth recently holding a 3 week goalkeeping camp has got the goalkeepers pepped up and are waiting to exhibit the learning’s under the bar. It is a motivation to see a squad which oozes confidence. The team in the last couple of weeks has worked on team coordination and passes. The idea is to convert when in the D and not lose out on those moments”.

All games during the series will be LIVE streamed. More details about the live stream will be published on ahead of the series starting.

India and New Zealand A will be playing their first match on 2nd October 2015 in Auckland.

List of players-


1. PR Sreejesh (Vice-Captain)
2. Harjot Singh

3. Birendra Lakra
4. Kothajit Singh
5. VR Raghunath
6. Jasjit Singh Kular
7. Rupinder Pal Singh
8. Gurjinder Singh

9. Sardar Singh (Captain)
10. Chinglensana Singh
11. SK Uthappa
12. Satbir Singh
13. Devinder Walmiki
14. Manpreet Singh
15. Dharamvir Singh

16. SV Sunil
17. Ramandeep Singh
18. Akashdeep Singh
19. Mandeep Singh
20. Lalit Upadhyay
21. Nikkin Thimmaiah

Match Schedule


Date Local Time Indian Time Team vs Team City
2 Oct. 2015 13:00 06:30 India vs New Zealand A Auckland
3 Oct. 2015 13:00 06:30 India vs New Zealand A Auckland
6 Oct. 2015 19:00 12:30 India vs New Zealand Nelson
7 Oct. 2015 19:00 12:30 India vs New Zealand Nelson
9 Oct. 2015 20:00 13:30 India vs New Zealand Christchurch
11 Oct. 2015 13:00 06:30 India vs New Zealand Christchurch

Leave a Reply