Latest News Top News

The Right Start Summit on the eve of the Centenary Celebrations of Save the Children.

Secunderabad | September | 4, 2019 :: The Right Start Summit on the eve of the Centenary Celebrations of Save the Children, in collaboration with ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition was conducted at NIN, Hyderabad. Etela Rajendra, Hon’ble Minister for Health was the Chief Guest.  

 Mr. Malla Reddy, Hon’ble Minister for Labour and WCD, Mr. B. Ram Mohan, Mayor of Hyderabad, Mr. Suresh Chukkapalli, Honorary Counsel General of The Republic of Korea, Mr. Tarun Joshi IPS, Joint Commissioner of Police – Special Branch Hyderabad, Dr. Hemalatha, Director National Institute of Nutrition, Vijay Kumar, IAS Commissioner, Dept of School Education were the Guests of Honor.

 The one-day summit had representation from the children of the project villages, from various government departments, police, NIN Scientists, civil society and media. Speaking on this occasion, Mr. Etela Rajendra stated that, “Telangana has people oriented policies and has always worked for the betterment of children. Various government schemes such as KCR Kits have helped to reach to the marginalized and poorest communities. There is a need to further address the root causes of poverty and make youth and children as productive citizens. I am glad that Save the Children is celebrating its 100 years which is a unique milestone of commitment and its reach of work in hundreds of villages is commendable.” Dr. Hemalatha, Director NIN spoke on the need to further focus on anemia which is a silent killer and Tarun Joshi IPS on the importance of child protection.  Vikas Gora, General Manager of Save the Children highlighted the journey of Save the Children of 40 years in the state and the need for collaborative and collective commitment required to address the rights of children.

 Save the Children felicitated Child Champions, individuals and institutions which have worked exceptionally for the betterment of children and their rights through the CHANGEMAKERS Award. 150 people participated from across the state of Telangana.

Leave a Reply