Presidents of Bharatiya Janata Party [ BJP ]
Article / Story / Poem / Short Story Latest News Politics Top News

Presidents of Bharatiya Janata Party [ BJP ]

Presidents of Bharatiya Janata Party [ BJP ]10 July 2014 :: The Bharatiya Janata Party [BJP ] is one of the two major parties in the Indian political system, the other being the Indian National Congress. It is India’s second largest political party in terms of representation in the parliament and in the various state assemblies.
In 1980, the leaders and workers of the former Bharatiya Jana Sangh, founded the Bharatiya Janata Party with Atal Bihari Vajpayee as its first President. Lal Krishna Advani was President for three times.
The highest authority in the party is the President. Officially, the BJP constitution provides for a three-year term for the President. Beyond this, there are several Vice-Presidents, General-Secretaries, Treasurers and Secretaries. The National Executive consists of an undetermined number of senior party leaders from across the nation, who are the highest decision-making body in the party. At the state level, a similar structure is in place, with every state unit being led by the respective President, who also officially serves a three-year term

 Presidents of Bharatiya Janata Party [ BJP ]

1980–1986                 Atal Bihari Vajpayee

1986–1991                  Lal Krishna Advani – First Term

1991–1993                   Murli Manohar Joshi

1993–1998                   Lal Krishna Advani – Second Term

1998–2000                  Kushabhau Thakre

2000–2001                  Bangaru Laxman

2001–2002                  Jana Krishnamurthi

2002–2004                   Venkaiah Naidu

2004–2006                    Lal Krishna Advani – Third Term

2006–2009                    Rajnath Singh

2009–2013                     Nitin Gadkari

2013–2014                      Rajnath Singh- Second Term

2014 –                                Amit Shah.

Leave a Reply